Historic Cabbagetown Coach House
Rare opportunity to live in a beautiful, thoughtfully restored coach house across from Riverdale Park in Cabbagetown. Built in the mid 1800s, its storied past began with housing Clydesdales and carriages and by the 1960s it was a toffee-apple factory before conversion to a residence.
Today it is an exceptional, character filled space with exposed original brick and beams, wide-plank pine floors and stunning, locally salvaged sliding doors on the main floor.
Address: 368 Sumach St. – Coach House
Price: $3,900 per month
Heat: Gas Forced Air
AC: Central Air
Parking: One space, off lane
Outdoor Space: Private Terrace
Arrange a viewing or request more info: email@example.com
This residence was featured in Coach Houses of Toronto By Margo Salnek and Donna Griffith, The Boston Mills Press, 2005. The write up as it appeared in the book is below.
Built in the mid- 1800s as part of a large estate in the area that was simply referred to as “On the Don,” this vine-covered coach house once housed priced Clydesdales and the family’s carriages, and provided accommodation for the groomsman. The property was later divided and purchased in 1919 by a wealthy scrap-metal dealer, who built his dream home and kept the coach house for his garage. In the early 1960’s the coach house was used as a toffee-apple factory until it was purchased in 1972 by Darrell Kent, a local Cabbagetown real estate promoter. He renovated the coach house into a beautiful residence, preserving the exterior, exposing the brick, refurbishing the original pine floors and dividing the main floor with magnificent oak-panelled doors salvaged from a local building that had been demolished. Today, the Cabbagetown coach house is used by a yoga instructor as a studio and residence for herself, her husband and their new baby.